VIDEO: The Puskas Award: FIFA Release Their Top 10 Goals Of 2010

For only the second time ever, FIFA have released the Puskas Award nominees for 2010...

The following list contains the top 10 goals scored in the calendar year and they will compete for the Puskas Award which was established for the first time in 2009. (Last year's nominees are here and Cristiano Ronaldo's winner here.)

FIFA say their list has been drawn up with the following criteria: "aesthetics; the importance of the match; the absence of luck or an opposition mistake as a factor making the goal possible; fair play; and the date, with only goals scored between January 1 and October 15 2010 counting."

Here is FIFA's top 10 list:

1. Hamit Altintop, Turkey v Kazakhstan, Euro 2012 qualifier

2. Matthew Burrows, Glentoran v Portadown, Northern Ireland Premiership

3. Linus Hallenius, Hammarby v Syrianska, Sweden Superettan

4. Lionel Messi, Barcelona v Valencia, La Liga

5. Samir Nasri, Arsenal v Porto, Champions League

6. Neymar, Santos v Santo Andre, Paulista

7. Arjen Robben, Bayern Munich v Schalke, DFB Pokal

8. Siphiwe Tshabalala, South Africa v Mexico, World Cup

9. Giovanni van Bronckhorst, Holland v Uruguay, World Cup

10. Kumi Yokoyama, Japan v North Korea, U17 Women's World Cup

Far be it from us to claim that we know more than FIFA but we have watched a fair few goals in the last 12 months and it is quite incredible that there are no Premier League crackers in the top 10.

The likes of Danny Rose, Gareth Bale and Dimitar Berbatov can all feel hard done by not to have made this list and from the rest of Europe, Karim Benzema (Guti's incredible assist), Maicon, Jari Litmanen also have a case.

If there are any others that should have been included please tell us in the comments.

And, on the actual top 10 list, Matty Burrows has a great chance to win when the award is presented for the goal of the year on January 10, 2011.