Southampton vs Chelsea

1 - 5
(HT 1 - 2)

J. Rodriguez 22'
D. Ba 35', 61'
V. Moses 45'+
B. Ivanović 52'
F. Lampard 83'

FA Cup Preview: Southampton - Chelsea

By Michael Lightfoot
Jan 4, 2013 7:15:00 AM
The hosts held Arsenal last time out and will fancy their chances against Rafael Benitez's men, who fell to a shock defeat against QPR on Wednesday.


Cork, Yoshida, Fonte, Shaw
Schneiderlin, Davis
Puncheon, Ward-Prowse, Ramirez


Azpilicueta, Cahill, Ivanovic, Bertrand
Luiz, Lampard,
Moses, Oscar, Marin


Southampton may look to give striker Rickie Lambert a break in this FA Cup fixture against defending champion Chelsea and will give a start to 18-year-old James Ward-Prowse.

Nigel Adkins has captain Adam Lallana (knee) as his only long-term injury problem and is blessed with an almost full squad of players from which to choose.

Chelsea will be looking for a response after being beaten by West London rival QPR at Stamford Bridge for the first time in more than 30 years. Goalkeeper Ross Turnbull could continue to deputize in goal as Petr Cech (groin) is a doubt ahead of the game. The Blues are already without John Terry and Oriol Romeu (knee).

  • James Ward-Prowse scored in the third round of the FA Cup last season and will be looking to add to that tally in a potential rare start for the youngster.
  • Southampton's only major trophy to date is the FA Cup. The Saints beat Manchester United in 1976 when they finished sixth in the old Second Division and United finished third in the old First Division.
  • Recent form has seen Nigel Adkins men go three matches unbeaten following draws against Fulham, Stoke and Arsenal.
  • Frank Lampard (picture right) is just one behind Kerry Dixon (193) and 10 behind Bobby Tambling (202) in the all-time goalscoring records at Chelsea.
  • The Blues have never beaten Southampton in the FA Cup. They have drawn three and lost four - with three away defeats.
  • Since 2000, Chelsea has won the FA Cup five times and has won it seven times in total. The Blues' first came in 1970, topping Leeds United in the final.